Supervisors consider Engineer Sharing Agreement

Helping out a neighbor was the theme of Monday’s Keokuk County Supervisors meeting, as the Board heard a report from County Engineer Andy McGuire on a recent meeting he had with the Mahaska County Supervisors. In October 2018, then-Mahaska County Engineer Dave Shannahan tenured his resignation. Since then, the Mahaska County Supervisors have grappled with what to do with that role until it could be filled full-time. The board initially approved a sharing agreement between Mahaska and Monroe counties, to utilize the Monroe County Engineer. That all could be changing, however, after Supervisor Deke Wood and McGuire met with the Mahaska County Supervisors.

Wood and McGuire reported that Monroe County no longer is interested in providing a sharing agreement with Mahaska County. As a result, Mahaska County Supervisor Chairman Mark Groenendyk approached Keokuk County about offering a shared position until they can fill the County Engineer position on a permanent basis. McGuire said he had the opportunity to review some information about the Mahaska County Highway Department, including financials, prior to a work session with the Mahaska County Supervisors.

“They’re in a good position right now,” McGuire said.

Wood added that the current Highway Department staff have been a tremendous asset during the transition.

For the full story, see this week's Keota Eagle. Subscribe by calling 1-800-558-1244 ext 122 or email Deb at or by clicking here.


Keota Eagle
310 E. Broadway Ave.
PO Box 18
Keota, Iowa 52248
Phone: 641-622-3110
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

New Sharon Sun
P.O. Box 502
New Sharon, IA 50207
Phone: 641-637-4031
FAX: 1-800-340-0805

The News-Review
120 East Washington
Sigourney, Iowa 52591
Phone: 641-622-3110

601 G. Avenue/PO Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-319-824-6288

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.