Keokuk County Soil and Water Conservation Poster Contest

Keokuk County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) Commissioners are pleased to announce the 2019 conservation poster winners in each division.  Fynlie Brooks (Pekin – Division 2); Sahraya Probst (Sigourney – Division 3).

            The contest includes five divisions for grades K-12 students in Keokuk County.  The poster theme this year was “Life in the Soil: Dig Deeper”.  Keokuk County had over 100 entries completed from Sigourney, Tri-County, Keota and Pekin school districts.

            Award certificates and cash awards were presented for the first, second and third place in each division and also second and sixth grade.  The first place Division winners were sent on to compete in the Conservation Districts of Iowa Regional level.  Winners will be announced from the regional level later this summer will then move on to the state and national level for additional judging and possible awards.

For the rest of this story, check out the May 22nd issue of the Keota Eagle.


Keota Eagle
310 E. Broadway Ave.
PO Box 18
Keota, Iowa 52248
Phone: 641-622-3110
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

New Sharon Sun
P.O. Box 502
New Sharon, IA 50207
Phone: 641-637-4031
FAX: 1-800-340-0805

The News-Review
120 East Washington
Sigourney, Iowa 52591
Phone: 641-622-3110

601 G. Avenue/PO Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-319-824-6288

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.