2019 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards

DNR Director Kayla Lyon, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, Audrey Reiling, Micaela and David Klein, Ray and Ashley Klein, grandson Brayden Klein, Governor Kim Reynolds, and holding the Environmental Leader award sign, granddaughters Emmalyn Klein and Adelaide VanderMolen.

The 2019 Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards were presented at the 2019 Iowa State Fair on August 1 4, 2019. Fifty-three farm awards were presented. Opening remarks and presentations of awards were given by Governor Kim Reynolds, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, and DNR Director Kayla Lyon.

Recognized from Keokuk County was David and Micaela Klein. They operate a Century Farm southeast of Sigourney, has been a Township Trustee and is a Farm Bureau Board member. No-till, corn/soybean rotation, cover crops, hay rotation, rotational grazing, CRP, installation of tile outlet terraces are some of the conservation practices utilized on their farm.

They practice rotational grazing to preserve pasture ground to raise over 90 cow/calf pairs along with finishing hogs. The Klein’s have installed and maintained more than 9,000 feet of terraces, more than 16,000 feet of grassed waterways and three grade stabilization structures. David is a Keokuk County SWCD Commissioner and received the District Owner/ Operator Conservation Award.

Dave also works with his son Ray, who is the 4th generation on their farm. For the Klein’s, maintaining the family farm and conserving soil for future generations is a top priority, along with preserving water quality for the cow/calf herd.

For the full story, see this week's Keota Eagle. Subscribe by calling 1-800-558-1244 ext 122 or email Deb at circulation@midamericapub.com or by clicking here.